Operating Area

The NWIPC operates throughout a large area of B.C. from the Rocky Mountains of Valemount west to the Pacific Ocean, including Haida Gwaii, and north of Quesnel to the Yukon border. The area comprises a total land base of 37,642,600 hectares, including 854,013 hectares of Agricultural Land Reserve (ALR). In addition to Provincial Crown Land, Nisga'a Nation and First Nations traditional territory, it includes four regional districts; one unincorporated region; sixteen incorporated municipalities; and over 100 Parks/Protected areas; including areas managed by forest licensees, agriculture operations, railways, and the Province via the Ministry of Transporation, and Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations.

To manage this area, the NWIPC has divided the area into eight invasive plant management areas (IPMAs) in order to undertake invasive plant management over geographically defined areas as opposed to a jurisdictional basis. The IPMAs are:

  • Bulkley
  • Haida Gwaii
  • Lakes District
  • Nechako
  • Prince George
  • Robson Valley
  • Stikine-Skeena South
  • Stikine-Skeena North

Contractors in each IPMA inventory, treat, and monitor invasive plant infestation sites using the NWIPC Plan and Profile as a science-based strategy and treatment prioritization.



view all news »
posted: January 31, 2018
Feb 3 - Stand Up for BC Parks

This Saturday, Feb 3, 2018 - join people around the province, and Stand Up For BC Parks!

posted: January 30, 2018
Seedy Saturday in Prince George - Feb 24, 2018

We are super excited about Seedy Saturday in Prince George, at a new venue this year, offering more space for us to "spread our seed" -...